Back to guides

Faeria Academy Chapter 8 - Card Interaction FAQ

Posted by Aquablad on 20/04/2017

Difficulty
Guide's likes

Get up to speed with unique card interactions.

Faeria Academy: Chapter 8 - Card Interaction FAQ

Faeria Academy is a series of articles created in order to help new players get started with Faeria. The game combines the pace of modern digital card games with a living board, creating a dynamic and exciting element that is unique to the game. As the combination of a card game with a living board is entirely unique, we created the Academy to help new players transition and adapt to this style of game play. Faeria Academy starts with the basics but eventually delves into deeper, more advanced tactics and concepts. Each article provides access to additional resources that provide further help on the subjects being covered, including videos and similar articles.

Click here to see the contents page of the Academy.

Introduction

This article will cover common questions raised by community members regarding cards and their interactions. If you think I’ve missed something then contact me on Discord. This is a living article and will update when new questions need answering.

Last updated: 24/04/2017

Q: I transformed/removed a Triton Trainer but my opponents next Jump creature still received the power up.

Gift abilities trigger and resolve on the turn they’re played. Once Triton Trainer has been played onto the board there is no way to stop the power-up. Removing or transforming the Trainer doesn’t affect his ability as it has already been resolved.

Q: Why can Flame Spitter deal damage to a God?

An ‘enemy’ is anything you can target on board. This includes creatures, structures and Gods. If Flame Spitter could only target something specific like a creature, it would say in the card text. A good example is Seifer’s Wrath. The first line of text says ‘Deal 2 damage to a creature’ where as Firebomb says ‘Deal 4 damage to a creature or structure’.

Q: When Egg of Wonders transforms my new creature should be able to move.

All creatures without Haste can’t move the turn they come into play. This includes Egg of Wonders because the copy of the creature is treated as it has just been summoned. If you copy a Haste creature then it will be able to move and attack.

Q: I played Egg of Wonders and the next creature I draw is a Soul Eater. The Soul Eater in my hand is 13/13 but the one that is created from the egg is only a 1/1.

Egg of Wonders copies the creature's base stats. The Soul Eater you draw receives the power-ups from the ability but the Egg of Wonder copy doesn't. This interaction is something to consider when deck building around Egg of Wonders.

Q: My Boulder Thrower received damage from attacking and enemy Boulder Thrower even when it was Taunted by a Queen’s Guard.

This one is a little tricky. As a rule of thumb all ranged creatures will inflict damage to each other. This interaction isn’t affected by Taunt and is unavoidable. The Taunt doesn’t have any influence on the damage your Boulder Thrower receives when attacking the enemy ranged creature. When a ranged creature attacks another ranged creature, they will each receive damage equal to their attack value.

Q: Does a creature targeted by Cannon Carrier receive damage when attacking a Ranged creature?

The answer is yes. Once Cannon Carrier gives a friendly creatured Ranged they will receive damage like any other ranged creature.

Q: My opponents creature was adjacent to my Shimmering Statue and Ogre Battler. He attacked and destroyed my Shimmering Statue instead of my Ogre Battler.

If a creature is taunted by two cards then your opponent can choose which card to attack. In the situation above your opponent chose to destroy the Shimmering Statue instead of the Ogre Battler. Be careful when playing multiple Taunts because you give your opponent more options.

Q: I played Bold Bargainer and nothing in my hand got reduced.

It’s important to note that two cards in the game can’t have their cost reduced. These two cards are Primeval Colossus and Radiance. All cost reduction abilities don’t affect these cards because they have a unique cost reduction built into their design. Their cost reduction requirements are based on living elements on the board.

Primeval Colossus requires special lands for the reduction. This reduction can be accelerated with cards like Wild Growth but also be slowed down by cards like Meteor. Radiance’s cost will always equal your God’s life total and this can’t be reduced (unless you deal damage to yourself!).

Q: If a creature with Deathtouch destroys a creature does it count as combat kill? Will Volcanic Colossus have his cost reduced?

A creature destroyed in combat will trigger the reduction on Volcanic Colossus. Destroying a creature with Deathtouch is still achieved by combat.

Q: If Long-horned Yak dies near the Kobold Barracks, will the +2 attack from Barracks be transferred to the next creature you draw?

This is one of the synergies Long-horned Yak has with Red. Any power-up the Long-horned Yak has when he is destroy will transfer to the next creature you draw. This includes cards like Kobold Barracks. For more information check out my Long-horned Yak card review.

Decabytes 20/04/2017 21:15

Love this post! It clears up a lot of confusion.

Reply

Most liked guides View more

Latest guides View all

Defending Against Rush for Beginners

Post by Aquablad

3 comments

10/02/2017

View guide

What are Eggs?

Post by Atmaz

19 comments

10/02/2017

View guide

What is Pandora?

Post by Atmaz

9 comments

10/02/2017

View guide

Farmers (and how to use them)

Post by DrGECKO

2 comments

10/02/2017

View guide

The importance of defensive land placement

Post by DrGECKO

3 comments

10/02/2017

View guide